Be prepared for ICD-10

aria-labelledby=”ctl00_PlaceHolderMain_PageContent_label” class=”ms-rtestate-field” id=”ctl00_PlaceHolderMain_PageContent__ControlWrapper_RichHtmlField” style=”display:inline”>

ICD-10 Resource

The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) implemented ICD-10 codes October 1, 2015. For more details, view the rulingICD-9 code sets are no longer valid and ICD-10 code sets must be submitted for laboratory orders.  See the Lab Alert with hyperlinks to 17 crosswalks by medical specialty.

How does this affect lab orders?

  • All laboratories will continue to rely on ordering providers to supply valid diagnosis at the highest level of specificity to bill third-party payers, including Medicare and Medicaid.
  • Providing an ICD-10 code at the highest level of specificity at the time of order will minimize interruptions to your practice.
  • Resources listing common ICD-10 codes are listed below for your reference.

ICD-9 to ICD-10 Conversion

Type the ICD-9 code you want to convert to ICD-10 using this tool:   


The American Academy of Professional Coders (AAPC) offers ICD-10-CM Proficiency Preparation in addition to these ICD-9 to ICD-10 crosswalks by medical specialty:

The American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP) offers a variety of resources to help you including:

These ICD-10 Web sites provide additional information and resources:

PeaceHealth Laboratories